Quick and dirty Backup

After a long time I publish my backup (ultra sophisticated) technology 😛

I have a 80 Gb USB external hard drive and I want to copy everything inside my home directory (files, directory, hidden files, and so on), so I started using unison but it didn’t permit to exclude directories.

IMPORTANT:You MUST stay on your ~.

[lfoppiano@sboing ~]$ rsync -av --delete --exclude='Videos/*' --exclude='Music/*' --delete-excluded --progress . /media/Backup/sboing/home/lfoppiano/

My Hard drive directory is divided as /media/backup/host/directory/whatever/subwhatever

If you have suggestion, tell me, if will be useful I will update this post 😉

3 thoughts on “Quick and dirty Backup

  1. You might also want to look at rsnapshot:

    http://www.rsnapshot.org/

    From the web page:

    “rsnapshot is a filesystem snapshot utility for making backups of local and remote systems.

    Using rsync and hard links, it is possible to keep multiple, full backups instantly available. The disk space required is just a little more than the space of one full backup, plus incrementals. ”

    It might be useful for your backups as well.

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

