Evolution 2.24 = Epic fail?

I took this photos five minutes ago.

<rant>

After this and this, I’m tired, I can’t update…evolution 2.24 sucks a lot!

</rant>

By the way, I’m not going to switch to Thunderbird or $random_email_client, I was satisfied by previous releases. I’m hopeful this version will be fixed.

Update 24/11/2008@11:25: probably I have a credit with emails πŸ˜›


Update 04/12/2008@10:18: I’ve a lot of news πŸ™‚ I’m using the 2.24.2 since I found it on koji, few problems was solved but most of them remains, for example this and this πŸ™‚ The work to do is huge, I hope to see improvements next minor release in January 2009.

Update 08/12/2008@10:35: 2 hours to filtering message…what the fuck…I’m looking for an alternatives 😦

Update 17/12/2008@18:27 Right now, I can say that there is no alternative to evolution. The answer to “why not?” is “Evolution implements a very good virtual folders idea”.

Why virtual folders are so important for me? because permit you to abstract you email trees and make it independent by accounts number, account type, etc…The classical approach suppose you use POP, download your mail and manage it in locale. But if you use IMAP, for example, every email tree is independent, and there is no way to work with email from each account at the same time. To be hones, this is not really true. Right now the most innovative feature is the possibility to save a search (supported by Evolution, KMail and Thunderbird) and this search may be performed cross-account.

What is lacking, and Evolution had it (for more information about my frustration read here), is a folder that collect all emails the searches didn’t match.

I’m sick to explain to every people who tell me “I have evolution and it works” so this is my situation: I have to manage about 4 email account and a lot of old local emails. I usually use IMAP. I use about 30 virtual folders and I receive about 150/200 email every day (this number depends of days and of how many mailing lists I subscribed).

Update 15/01/2009@21:46 I have to say that last Evolution minor release (2.24.3) is really better. Less noisy bugs, less crashes. Unmatched folder feature is still missing, but I think developers understand that is important and they will try to get it back in next major release. I hope also zimbra-plugin mantainer take care of bug I opened because I can’t use my online zimbra calendar.

15 thoughts on “Evolution 2.24 = Epic fail?

  1. Thunderbird Nightly, which is very stable, is very fast and nicely customizable, try it. With additional userChrome.css, you can make its icons looks like they were native, until a special Tango! gets created.

  2. Well, the kde people are singing how absolutely fabulous Kmail in KDE4.2 is. You really might wanna give it a try

  3. Perhaps the export settings in evo 2.22 and import settings in 2.24 has a place….
    πŸ˜‰

    Worked perfectly for me. The first run wizard also asks if you want to import mail settings from a backup.

  4. As I said, I don’t want to use and/or try any other email client.

    @Luca Botti: Evolution asked me to import email in sqlite. I answered yes, import was succesful, but right now it takes 40/50 minutes to perform mail filtering 😦

    @JayBee: yes, probably evolution has also sensitive plugin πŸ˜›

  5. Evolution is so buggy for years now.

    I know nobody around me who use evolution to manage their e-mails, for the same reason : too many nasty bugs

    I really suggest you to switch to Thunderbird.

  6. I’m having numerous issues with 2.24 as well. I’ve seen the issues described here and then some. It truly is a catastrophical failure.

    There should never be a reason to export and import anything. Actually that doesn’t even fix anything, since Evolution just makes an archive of the files when exporting. Since it has not been able to upgrade them properly in the first place it doesn’t help at all.

  7. @Vesuri: Unfortunately I have no choise to change email client. Evolution is the only one that has the features I need.

    But yes…the answer to the article subject is yes, evolution 2.24 is an epic fail.

  8. I have been very disappointed with Evo 2.24. It is a major suck. I have since downgraded to 2.22 which works fine. The major issues are supposed to get fixed in 2.24.3 so I might give that a try when it comes out. But I am of the opinion that they should have never released 2.24 in the POS state that it is.

  9. @Joe: which feature? Have you idea when evo 2.24.3 will come out? I wish to downgrade it to 2.22, but I think with Fedora there is huge work to do, and I prefer to wait…and hope…

  10. Congratulations on your fine post. Thanks. I find this info useful. I am working as a entrepreneur, I use Outlook as my e-mail client and with the help of Email Sorter Wizard, an Outlook add-on, I get all my e-mail filed.

Leave a Reply

